kadifina
my name is katie. i cook. i run. i knit. i complain about people that don't use their blinkers.
Monday, April 11, 2011
king of the lanes?
Friday, April 08, 2011
my baby
Tuesday, March 29, 2011
how my garden grows
i read on pioneer woman that she had raised flower beds. they seemed cute and easy and would keep the dogs from ruining everything (really the most important thing). i convinced alex that this was a good idea and that if he really loved me he'd build me a raised bed for the garden i would kill. he said he loved me enough for that. he loved me so much that he talked me into continuing with the garden even after i realized how much more expensive it would be when i saw the cost of the wood. and screws. and dirt. whatever the case, we got the bed built and leveled. being the resourceful people we are, we used a box to fill in the gaps around the edge of the bed.
i ran to the landscaping place and filled the back of my car up with 5000 pounds of dirt (or nine 30lb bags) and hauled them into the backyard.
i didn't really have a real plan other than covering up the grass. it was pretty windy that day, so i just did a little at a time.
i guess he approved. he moved back to the porch and continued to pant for a few more hours. i know he needs a haircut. it'll happen eventually.
so i kept up the same process. a little more newsprint, another bag of dirt. i managed to get through the rest of the bags and then used my handy dandy garden rake to even things out.
i made another trip to lowes for some plants. i didn't buy any that morning because i somehow thought it was going to take a lot longer to get to this point. i picked out two different kinds of tomatoes, two green bell peppers, a jalepeno, a sweet basil, yellow squash, and zucchini. they were out of cilantro (jerkstores). plus i got a garden tool set for 5 bucks! the shovel alone was $4, so i was sold.
i did a little research on the better homes and gardens website to see how to space things out and what to put where. i knew that the squashes would get pretty big and the tomatoes would get high, so i put those on each end. i thought the herbs would do well closer to the house so i could just grab it when i needed it (rather than walk ALL the way around to the other side of the bed). then i got to digging.
i also read later that you're supposed to water the dirt and let it settle before planting. i didn't do this either. i just planted and watered and watered and watered. lucky for me i have a natural water source nearby.
i went back to lowes a few days later and got two bunches of cilantro i was needing. then i went to home depot for a red bell pepper plant, another zucchini to replace the sad one i started with, and a fence thing to keep the dogs from running through the garden on their way to their corner to bark. then i went back to lowes for two tomato cages. then i quit spending money for the stupid garden.
i can't wait for homegrown salsa in a few months.
Monday, March 28, 2011
rock 'n roll
Wednesday, March 09, 2011
ash wednesday
when i moved to austin and became involved in mosaic, i was introduced to numerous rituals and practices that once seemed foreign to me. as we did them, i felt like i was joining in with centuries of traditions. i loved knowing that people from all over the world for years and years and years had been doing the exact same thing i was doing. i do believe that there is also something that's amazing about having a unique experience with god. doing something because that's the way it's always been done isn't always the right thing to do. i felt like mosaic was a great blend of tradition and an authentic worship that was perfect for austin and perfect for me.
i was lucky enough to participate in the planning of several lenten services and activities and loved learning about some of the history of lent. we struggled with the balance of leading the liturgy through the season without manipulating the experience. in the end we remembered that we were part of mosaic, and that things would never go as we planned them. it was humbling.
the first good friday service was incredible. my parents and sister were in town, their first time to come to a mosaic liturgy. we sang songs together, don talked about the horror of the crucifixion, we spent time in prayer and silence and grief. the night ended in a blacked out room to symbolize the darkness after the cross. as we left, my family talked about how thought provoking the service was and how much they enjoyed my new church family. i was relieved.
for the easter service, we began in the same blacked out room we left on friday. we sang songs in mourning of christ. the song turned from "were you there when they crucified our lord?" to "were you there when he rose up from the grave?" we moved into the time to celebrate the resurrection and lit candles and removed the covers from the windows to symbolize christ's light. everyone was happy again. we sang and clapped (that's right, a room full of hipsters clapped at church. it was a big deal).
then i looked up and saw that a flame was a little big on one of the candles. then i realized that it was pretty big and growing. i leaned over to my friend doug and whispered, "the table is on fire." i turned around to see if anyone else noticed, unsure of what to do next. doug looked at the table, then behind, and leaned over and whispered, "joe's got it." joe, the only real grown up there, was running towards the front of the room, tearing his shirt off in the process. seth (of sad accordion fame and music pastor), who was leading the song, opened his eyes, saw joe running towards him topless, and just closed his eyes and kept singing. joe extinguished the flames and then took his seat. we continued on as if nothing happened.
as the night progressed, we experienced easter in true mosaic fashion. fires, videos not working, sound not working, confusion, references to magnolia and the matrix... typical mosaic. it was perfect.
the next 3 lenten seasons were incredible. the blunders seemed to be a little less eventful. the services were even more thought provoking and powerful as the years continued. easter in denton never seems quite as celebratory now that we don't go through the period of mourning prior to that sunday. i miss the time with mosaic and wonder how things are now that they've grown and and become a little more established.
since leaving austin, i've still tried to observe lent as much as possible and keep it sacred to me. this year my goal is to try to be connected with it as a little more than in years past. mosaic's reading through john, so i'm following their plan. i'm really excited to see what sticks out to me this year and how i'll interpret my readings. i'm hoping this time will allow me to refocus my life. i tend to use lent as a time to begin resolutions rather than at new years. it holds me accountable but also allows me to remember why i'm making the sacrifice and help me stay focused on the big picture.
"god's grace upon you, upon our community, and upon the church worldwide as we enter into this sacred season."
-mosaic
Monday, March 07, 2011
austin city limits
Tuesday, March 01, 2011
a lesson in freedom
lucky for me, on the way home i remembered a tattered old sports bra that would work in a pinch and pulled it out for the run. i took off, enjoying the breeze and the sunshine. i felt great, not runner's high great, but much better than i've felt in awhile. as i started to cross the first street, i looked down to see how things were going and saw that i didn't start my garmin. several expletives left my mouth. i knew that i'd gone about 1.2 miles at this point, so i could just tack on another mile to whatever the rest of the run was, and be fine. there would be no exact mileage/time/calorie count, which is beyond frustrating for me, but it's beautiful.
so i kept going, i made a couple laps around the school, still feeling good. 2 1/2 sides have a long hill and i was able to push up the hills without exhausting myself. still felt good, glad to be running. i rounded the corner and saw a woman running with her dog. she was jogging at a decent pace. she didn't look like she was pushing herself, but a random person on the street would consider her a runner, not just a part time jogger. i made it my goal to keep up with her. it was easy. my confidence boosted as i realized that if she looks like a runner, and i'm doing the same thing, then i have to. i loved my run.
i was halfway through my last lap. i was heading up the very last hill and saw a women pushing a stroller towards me on the sidewalk. normally, no big deal, we share the sidewalk, but that block has a lot of bushes on both sides. again, no big deal, i take off through the grass (next to the street, not on the regular part of the yard). as i pass the woman, i realize that i'm suddenly on the ground. someone booby trapped the yard to prevent runners, apparently. there was a giant hole covered in leaves about 8 or 9 inches in diameter. it wasn't even a dip in the ground, it was a full blown hole, surrounded by metal. the front half of my foot went in and i went down on both knees and hands.
i wasn't even embarrassed, just super confused. as i got up to see if i was alive, the woman just stood there. she didn't offer to help or even see if i was okay, she just looked at me with a weird smile. she didn't trip me, though that's how i felt at the time since i moved for her, but she really wasn't a jerk about things. i just wanted her to offer to help me up or see if i was okay. so i sort of dusted myself off and got the chunks of grass off my now green knees, and said, "well, i guess i'll walk home the rest of the way."
so i limped across the street, not really caring that cars had to wait for me. i hobbled for a few steps and then decided this was my beautiful running day. so i was going to run. i was about half a mile from the house, so i took off as fast as i could at a pace i thought i could sustain. i did pretty well, too, even if i slowed down quite a bit at the end. alex was in the driveway when i got back and wondered why i looked a little more frazzled than normal.
but i did it. and i had a good time. so what if i didn't know exactly how far i went? so what if i had no idea how long i was gone, or what my average and top pace were? so i didn't enter in my calories burned because i didn't know them? so i fell on my face on a public street where a new mother didn't take pity on me? i wouldn't take pity either. i wanted to run on a pretty day, so i did. and i enjoyed it. i wasn't wrapped up in the numbers, and that was okay. it helped me remember that running is fun. it's not just a time for me to burn calories, or punish myself for the extra piece of pizza i ate, or even just train for my half. it's about enjoying what's going on around me and running just to run.
so i did. and then i got to go to target, which makes life good. and then we grabbed chipotle, which was delicious as ever. we had a coupon for a buy one get one, which we forgot to use. didn't even care, it was worth it. plus now we get to go again this week before the coupon expires.
so i'm getting there. i'm a million times better about not letting things stress me out (especially since i changed jobs). and i'm working on looking at the big picture. in celebration of my new freedoms (or at least the process of getting there) i shall enjoy gloria's salsa and bean dip. and more importantly some good times with a friend. and even more exciting, i got to listen to the newly released sad accordion's ep. it's just as good as it comes. they make me so happy. i can't wait to see the show this weekend. until then, i shall run. but not today. today's a day to celebrate. tomorrow i will celebrate my ability to run.